Main Navigation - Mobile

Career & College Readiness

Three Richfield High School students learn about college opportunities from a presenter

Life After RHS - What are Your Plans?

It is never too early to start planning your educational future after high school! Our Career & College Readiness (CCR) Program Coordinator, Julie Magnuson, and our grade-level counselors are here to help you sort through your questions about postsecondary options. Whether you are an incoming ninth-grader or getting ready to complete your final year of high school, we are eager to assist you in your planning process. We want all students to establish a postsecondary plan that you are excited about and is a best fit for your interests and aspirations!

Our Purpose

The purpose of the career and college readiness program in Richfield Public Schools is to equip students with the knowledge, insight and skills that will lead to postsecondary success. We define postsecondary success as students being ready, upon high school graduation, for further education and/or training that will lead to fulfilling careers. As directly stated in our Strategic Plan: “We will ensure all students learn about postsecondary options to set them up for success in their futures.” In other words, our goal is to help you achieve your goals!

College Planning & Application Resources

College Entrance Exams

Financial Aid

Career & College Readiness Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Aug 28
Mon, Aug 29
Tue, Aug 30
Wed, Aug 31
Thu, Sep 1
Fri, Sep 2
Sat, Sep 3
Sun, Sep 4
Mon, Sep 5
Tue, Sep 6
Wed, Sep 7
Thu, Sep 8
Fri, Sep 9
Sat, Sep 10
Sun, Sep 11
Mon, Sep 12
Northern Michigan University Rep Visit
-
CCR Center
Willamette University Rep Visit
-
Virtual
Tue, Sep 13
Wed, Sep 14
Thu, Sep 15
Drake University Rep Visit
-
CCR Center
Fri, Sep 16
Ohio State University Rep Visit
CCR Center
University of Arizona
Virtual
Carroll University Rep Visit
CCR Center
Sat, Sep 17
Sun, Sep 18
Mon, Sep 19
Grand Canyon University Rep Visit
CCR Center
Wed, Sep 21
Thu, Sep 22
Fri, Sep 23
Sat, Sep 24
Sun, Sep 25
Mon, Sep 26
Financial Aid Night
RHS Auditorium
Tue, Sep 27
University of Chicago Rep Visit
-
CCR Center
U.S. Army Rep Visit
CCR Center
Wed, Sep 28
Thu, Sep 29
U.S. Navy Rep Visit
CCR Center
Fri, Sep 30
Sat, Oct 1

More Postsecondary Options

The Military

picture of an american flag in a field

Branches of the military offer training in almost 1,500 different occupations. Many of these are similar to occupations found in civilian life. If you are considering the military as an option after high school, approach this decision in the same manner as college selection. Speak to representatives in each branch of the service to gain more insight on the demands and benefits of each branch. Be sure to discuss your plans with your parents and arrange a meeting with military representatives and your parents so they may benefit from the discussion as well. Learn more about all of these options on the military website or the U.S. Department of Defense website, or meet with Ms. Magnuson in the CCR Center.

Internships

photo of young adult learning code IT specialty

Internships are usually short-term work experiences, but can last 40 hours or more. Internships extend a career field or pathway beyond the classroom to outside the school, and can help a job-seeker reach their career goal through building experience. Internships generally involve participants working in professional settings under the supervision and monitoring of practicing professionals. Interns can be paid or unpaid, and they may or may not involve academic credit. Internships are generally offered to students in grades 11 and 12, and students are supervised by a licensed work-based learning teacher. 

 

Apprenticeships

photo of rcep student learning blacksmithing skills

Youth Apprenticeship (YA) is a particular type of work-based learning for Minnesota secondary students 16 years of age and older. YA experiences:

  • Focus on career preparation and training within a specific career pathway;
  • Require a minimum of 450 hours for completion;
  • Are always paid experiences;
  • Lead to an industry-recognized credential of value (“a recognized credential of academic and occupational proficiency” Minn. Stat. § 124D.47) for the student youth apprentice whenever possible. Example credentials of value can include an industry certification, articulated postsecondary credits, and hours towards (adult) Registered Apprenticeship.

Year of Service/Gap Year

picture of young adults building homes for habitat for humanity

A gap year, which is time set aside for community service or experiential learning, typically takes place immediately after high school graduation. The most successful gap years tend to be planned and purposeful, with a defined and timed entry date for postsecondary education, and often involve travel with a focus on service to others. The Gap Year Association is an excellent resource for students considering this path.

Richfield Spartan logo: gray helmet in red diamond with black background

Contact

JULIE MAGNUSON

Landing Nav